Fashion Access
ALL CHINA LEATHER EXHIBITION | 29 - 31 AUGUST 2018 | SHANGHAI
Sign up for APLF's biweekly E-newsletter

  1. Industry news & insights by experts

  2. Featured products and companies

  3. Tips & tricks for your business


 

Visiting Shanghai

With a history of more than 700 years, Shanghai was once the financial center of the Far East regions. Since the reforms that began in 1990s, great changes have taken place in the city.

Area
7,037 square km

Population
Over 20 million

Language
The official language in China is Mandarin but distinct dialects are spoken throughout the country.
Shanghainese speak Mandarin or Shanghaihua, however most tourist hotels have staff who are fluent in foreign languages.

Currency
Renminbi (RMB 6.7265 to US$ 1) (as of 2 August 2017)

Service Charge
Restaurants and hotels 0~20%

Electricity
Electricity is supplied at 220 volts, 50 cycles.

Telecom
The country code of China is 86 and the city code of Shanghai is 021. Network accepted in Shanghai is GSM.

Useful Numbers
Ambulance 120
Police 110
Consumer Council 12315
Overseas Country Code Enquiries 116
Fire Services 119
Time 117
Weather 121 / 221
Tourism Council 64393615
Local and Overseas IDD Enquiries 114
Pudong Airport Flight Information 96081388 / 38484500
Hongqiao Airport Flight Information 62683659 / 62688918


Time Difference (Take Monday in Shanghai as an example)
Shanghai 8:00 (0) (Monday)
New York 19:00 (-13) (Sunday)
London (Paris) 0:00 (-8) (Monday)
Tokyo 9:00 (+1) (Monday)
Sydney 10:00 (+2) (Monday)


Climate
Weather in September is generally cool, ranging between 18.6 degree celcius to 23.5 degree celcius (65.5 Fahrenheit to 74.3 Fahrenheit). Storms with torrential rain can become quite frequent in September.

Health and Hygiene
Visitors to China are required to fill in a health declaration form at the Customs. Medical facilities are generally adequate in Shanghai. It is advisable to drink only boiled and bottled water.

Medical & Personal Accident Insurance

It is important to check for your upcoming China visit that you have in place appropriate medical and personal accident insurance in your own country, as it can sometimes be a difficult and expensive experience should hospitalisation in China unfortunately be required.